Roberts resigns from town council


PENDLETON — After serving about a year on Pendleton Town Council, District 3 representative Jennifer Roberts has stepped down.
Madison County Republican Chairman Russ Willis said Roberts indicated she was leaving because of new demands that would make it difficult to serve the town.
Roberts did not return a call seeking comment by press time.

Her resignation was effective Friday, Nov. 10, Willis said.
Roberts defeated Democrat Joe Noel in November 2022. They were vying for a seat that became open after longtime Republican Councilman Bob Jones decided not to run for re-election.
Shortly after results came in on election night in 2022, Roberts said, “I’m just really thankful to be elected into this position. It’s humbling, and I don’t take that responsibility lightly. I have big shoes to fill following Bob Jones, but I’m excited for the opportunity and I’m up to the challenge.
“I just feel like Pendleton is in such a pivotal time for growth and what that looks like, and controlling and preserving what Pendleton is. And I’m just really excited to be a part of that.”
Willis said a caucus is set for 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 28, at Town Hall, to determine a replacement for Roberts.
District 3 covers the southeast portion of town, with the bulk of the district south of Fall Creek and east of Pendleton Avenue.
The five-member town council was already primed for change after last week’s election, during which current District 1 Democratic Councilman Jerry Burmeister defeated Republican Shane Davis for his at-large seat. Republican newcomer Cory Hall was elected unopposed to Burmeister’s District 1.
Those changes are set to take effect in January.
If the Nov. 28 caucus determines a replacement for Roberts, that person would be sworn in that night, Willis said.
People interested in being considered for the District 3 vacancy should contact Willis at 765-643-4871.
People must live within district boundaries to represent the district.
The other two council members are President Marissa Skaggs, a Republican whose at-large term expires Dec. 31, 2026, and Democratic Councilman Steve Denny, who was re-elected unopposed to a new four-year term for District 2 last week.

No posts to display